Department of Radiation Oncology, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, WA, USA

Dr. Simon S. Lo is Professor and Vice Chair for Strategic Planning of Radiation Oncology, Professor of Neurological Surgery and Director of Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy at University of Washington Medical Center in Seattle, WA. Dr. Lo is currently the chair of the American College of Radiology-American Radium Society Appropriateness Use Committee in Bone Metastasis and the radiation oncology track co-chair for RSNA refresher course, and is an expert in brain and spinal tumors, stereotactic radiosurgery and stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT). He is also the President for CARROS of American College of Radiology (ACR). Dr. Lo is also on the Board of Directors of Radiosurgery Society. In 2019, he has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Society for Palliative Radiation Oncology.

He has published over 200 peer-reviewed papers, over 50 book chapters and 4 textbooks, including a comprehensive textbook in SBRT (>50,000 downloads), in addition to an adult CNS radiation oncology textbook (>40,000 downloads) . He has given lectures on SBRT in American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO), Radiological Society of North America (RSNA), Radiosurgery Society (RSS), ESTRO, International Stereotactic Radiosurgery Society (ISRS), and American Thoracic Society (ATS) conferences and in multiple US and international academic centers. He is on the editorial boards of multiple oncology journals including Neurosurgery and Advances in Radiation Oncology and also a reviewer for Lancet, Lancet Oncol, Nature Reviews Clinical Oncol, JCO, Radiotherapy & Oncol, and IJROBP.

His areas of research are in palliative radiation oncology, CNS tumors, stereotactic radiosurgery, radiobiological modeling for ablative radiotherapy, SBRT for lung, liver and spinal tumors, and toxicities associated with SBRT. He is a Fellow of American College of Radiology and American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO).

Associate Editor-in-Chief of APM
Terms of Appointment: Dec 2019 - Nov 2021

Editorial Board Member of APM
Terms of Appointment: Jan 2018 - Jun 2019; Jul 2019 - November 2019