Editor-in-Chief: Charles B. Simone, II, MD

Dr. Charles B. Simone, II is the Medical Director of the Maryland Proton Treatment Center and an Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. He completed his undergraduate and medical school training at the University of Pennsylvania. He completed an internship in internal medicine, and then he completed residency training in radiation oncology at the National Cancer Institute (NCI), National Institutes of Health, where he served as chief resident. Prior to his appointment at University of Maryland, Dr. Simone was an Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology, Chief of Thoracic Oncology at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, and Co-Director of the Penn Mesothelioma and Pleural Program for the University of Pennsylvania Health System. Dr. Simone treats patients with lung cancer, malignant pleural mesothelioma, and other thoracic malignancies with photon and proton radiation therapy and photodynamic therapy (PDT). He is a National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, and Department of Defense funded investigator who performs clinical and translational research investigating the use of proton therapy and PDT as definitive therapy and as part of multi-modality therapy for non-small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer, and mesothelioma. Dr. Simone also investigates palliative radiotherapy, analgesic utilization, and other aspects of palliative care in the management of patients with advanced and metastatic lung cancer and other malignancies, and he studies barriers to optimal pain management in cancer patients.

He is the Chair of the Proton Collaborative Group (PCG) Lung Committee and the Chair of the American Society for Photobiology (ASP) Education Committee. He is appointed to the NRG Oncology (formerly Radiation Therapy Oncology Group [RTOG]) Lung Cancer Core Committee; NRG Radiation Oncology Committee; NCI Thoracic Malignancies Steering Committee Mesothelioma Working Group; International Thymic Malignancy Interest Group (ITMIG) Research and Infrastructure Committee; ITMIG Thymic Carcinoma Workgroup; American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) Lung Cancer “Blue Ribbon” Panel; ASTRO Palliative Radiotherapy Working Group; Society for Palliative Radiation Oncology (SPRO) Research Committee; Proton Collaborator Group Reirradiation Committee; Particle Therapy Co-Operative Group (PTCOG) Scientific Committee; and multiple PTCOG Clinical Subcommittees.

Editor-in-Chief: Zhi-hua Zhu, MD, PhD

Zhi-hua Zhu, MD, PhD, is an associate professor in State Key Laboratory of Oncology in South China, Cancer Center, Sun Yat-sen University. Dr. Zhu received his M.D. degree and then trained as a postdoctoral fellow in Sun Yat-sen University. Dr. Zhu has actively been engaged in the pre-clinical and clinical studies on chest tumors including lung cancer, esophageal carcinoma, and breast cancer, with special interests in the palliative treatment of tumors and the individualized treatment of lung cancers. Dr. Zhu has participated in the National 863 key Program on ‘Molecular Typing and Individualized Treatment of Lung Cancer and Esophageal Carcinoma’. Furthermore, Dr. Zhu is the responsible person for a number of research projects supported by National Natural Science Fund, Ministry of Human Resources, and many other State- and province-level institutions. He has served as a fellow or visiting scholar in the United States in 2009 and in France and Germany in 2010. Dr. Zhu has published articles in Journal of Clinical Oncology (Zhu ZH, et al. Three immunomarker support vector machines-based prognostic classifiers for stage IB non-small-cell lung cancer. J Clin Oncol. 2009;27:1091-9.), Journal of Cancer Research and Clinical Oncology, World Journal of Gastroenterology, Medical Oncology, and many other peer-reviewed journals. Dr. Zhu is a member of the editorial committee of Journal of Thoracic Disease and an expert evaluator for Research Fund for the Doctoral Program of Higher Education of China. He won the ‘Ding Ying Science and Technology Award’ issued by the Province of Guangdong in 2010.


Honorary Editor-in-Chief: Howard S. Smith, MD, FACP

Dr. Smith was the Medical Director of Palliative Medicine and the Academic Director of Pain Management in the Department of Anesthesiology at Albany Medical College in Albany, New York. He was board certified in Internal Medicine, Nuclear Medicine, and Anesthesiology, as well as having certification in Pain Management by both the American Board of Anesthesiology and the American Board of Pain Medicine. Additional certifications were in Palliative Medicine by the American Board of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, and the American Board of Anesthesiology and in Addiction Medicine by the American Board of Addiction Medicine/American Society of Addiction Medicine. As a member of the faculty at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Dr. Smith served as Director of Pain Medicine at Presbyterian University Hospital. Dr. Smith also served as faculty at the Harvard Medical School and was Director of Cancer Pain at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts. Dr. Smith had also served as the Director of Pain Management and Director of Pain Fellowship at Albany Medical College/Albany Medical Center Hospital. Dr. Smith received the Leonard Bushnell Pain Award for Teaching Excellence in Pain Management Fellowship in 2001 from Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center of Harvard Medical School. An expert reviewer for a number of publications including the journal Pain and Journal of Pain, he was also the Editor-in-Chief of Pain Physician and the Journal of Pain Research and was on the editorial board of the American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Care. Dr. Smith had authored numerous articles, books, and book chapters, as well as having lectured frequently at national and international professional society meetings. He was a member of multiple committees of the American Academy of Pain Medicine and the American Pain Society. In addition, he had contributed questions and served as an initial committee member of the joint Pain Management Examination Committee of the American Board of Anesthesiology, American Board of Physical Medical and Rehabilitation, and American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology.